ad astra per alia porci


purpose, motivation, a beginning
April 14, 2007, 4:14 pm
Filed under: miscellaneous

Several significant moments occurred over the last few months that prompted the creation of this blog: my release from a year and ten months of compulsory military service for my nation, my twenty-first birthday, my decision of university course and my purchase of my first stocks.

All these events gave me a heightened sense of my entry into adulthood, a life of responsibility and unfolding possibilities. I feel a strong need to document my thoughts and actions as a means to grow and understand myself. As George Santayana said, “Those who cannot remember the past are condemned to repeat it.”

This is exactly what this blog is for: a means to deposit my thoughts about a range of subjects I am interested in, a journal of my trading and investment exploits and a database for my education in finance and economics. The human memory is fallible and selective, mine notwithstanding, and this blog will serve as a repository of my thinking, actions and mistakes and an avenue for me to reflect on the past and my thinking and formulate new thoughts and ideas.

Writing and maintaining a blog is like talking into a hole in a wall, a soliloquy between an individual and the digital wilderness. You never know who might be on the other side of the wall listening, but it doesn’t bother me if anyone chances upon this blog and reads the entries; the blog is largely for private consumption with no compelling need for an iota of publicity.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

