ad astra per alia porci


Ingmar Bergman
July 31, 2007, 1:42 am
Filed under: diary

31/07/07

I was doing my daily reading of various news websites when I stumbled upon a piece by Peter Bradshaw of the Guardian about Ingmar Bergman, a Swedish filmmaker who has passed away the day before. I was immediately attracted to the themes and preoccupations of Bergman as expressed in his life’s work, mainly because they seem to be a reflection of my own concerns: the improbability of God’s existence, the essential pointlessness of life, the struggle for faith, the question of morality and loneliness with an emphasis on the masculine perspective.

I must get my hands on some of his films; it should be an interesting experience.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

