ad astra per alia porci


Indi memories
May 29, 2008, 2:41 pm
Filed under: diary | Tags: ,

280508

Watching the latest installment of Indiana Jones reminded me that my childhood dream was to be an archaeologist. Or to be more specific, an Egyptologist. I was fascinated by ancient civilisations when I was younger and I still am, only less so. All the intricacies of alternative histories and theories regarding the origins of civilisations and lost civilisations like the Mayans and Aztecs combined with the illusory allure of a life of adventure and immersion in other cultures had quite an effect on my young mind.

Obviously no one can ever live a fantasy like Indi. But I think what I can take from this is that I need an element of adventure and exploration in my life, and perhaps in my future job too. Danger seems to have a certain appeal to me. Also, I think I have a desire to wander, which might be a product of my character as well as the way I was brought up. I have never completely sunk my roots anywhere and I am pretty sure I am able to adapt well to and live in new environments. But this also means that I have not developed strong attachments to any individual or place in my life.

Childhood dreams are just what they are: dreams. But it does affect me when I compare my present reality with what I dreamed of being as a kid and realise that life usually does not turn out the way you want it to.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

