ad astra per alia porci


White bread
June 20, 2008, 2:48 pm
Filed under: diary, food | Tags: ,

200608

A landmark day: I made my first ever loaf of bread today! Actually it is two loafs. The bread was pretty dense; it reminded me of chiffon cake. Next time I should let it rest for longer to get a less dense bread. The taste was there though. It is definitely better than the average Gardenia or Sunshine crap we get. My sister remarked that the bread is slightly too salty; I will add less salt next time.

One funny incident. I had one slice before leaving my second at the edge of the living room table. I went to the kitchen to wash some dishes. When I returned to the living room, my bread was missing. My dog stole it and was happily choking on the oversized chunk at a dark corner of the room. I had to remove the piece and tear it up into smaller pieces before feeding it back to her.

It was a pleasure eating the bread toasted for breakfast together with bacon, mushrooms, scrambled eggs and Brie, washed down with my favourite Earl Grey.

The recipe is as follows:

White bread

Ingredients:

500g strong white flour

1 tablespoon salt

60ml olive oil

20g yeast / 15g instant yeast

270g water

Steps:

1) Mix all ingredients in a large bowl. Separate the yeast and the salt when adding them to the bowl. Add the water last by slowing pouring it in while mixing. Knead for 10 minutes. Leave to rise for 1 hour

2) Oil the loaf tin. Mold dough into a sausage shape. Leave dough in tin to rise for 30 minutes to 1 hour.

3) Preheat oven to 120 degrees Celsius. Dust top of dough with flour, put tin in oven and bake for 35 minutes.

4) Take out of oven and turn loaf out into wire rack to cool.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

